2018 winning compositions "Dialogue" by S. Jean Park (Korea) for flute and electronics was premiered at the 2018 NYEA Festival in NYC on July 22, and "Athique" for flute and piano by Fillipo Zapponi (Professor in Toulous, France) will be premiered in Italy on July 14th, 2019 in Salento as well as in NY at St. Johns University in October, 2019, all performed by Linda Wetherill. Giovanni Calabrese will assist on piano.

OZCAN SONMEZ of Bulgaria, professor at Istanbul University, has won the 2017 Ensemble contest with his "Aladdin's Lamp" for 7 flutists. Honorable mention in this category is given to Daniel Walzer, assistant professor at the University of Massachusetts in Lowell, for his "Enigmatic Miniature" for flute quartet.

The solo category winner is Marco Gaietta, from Venice, with his "Duale" composition for clarinet.

JOAO PEDRO PAIVA OLIVEIRA has received unanimous vote as winner of the 2016 competition with "MagmaJOAO PEDRO PAIVA OLIVEIRA has received unanimous vote as winner of the 2016 competition with "Magma", for electronics and violin. An honorable mention for ensemble has been accepted by Saeed Mirzazedeh of


2015: Alice Berni, Riccione, "Il Teatro di Rebecca" cello, Gaetano Lorandi, Villa Verla, for ...tacite passeggiate con la luna (flute & percussion), 2015 and Sergei Patramansky, of St. Petersburg, Russia, author of "Constellations" for flute, violin, cello, and percussion - a tribute to Scriabin.

2014 Alastair Greig, London, UK, "Neruda Fragments" for solo cello,

Javier Maria Lopez Rodriguez, Spain, "Diglosia" flute & piano,

David Stockard, Northern Ireland, UK, "for a Cellist and Pianist

Federico Nunez, honorable mention, for "Transmutaciones" cello solo

2013 composition competition: Paolo Geminiani (Ravenna) "Inner Counterpoints" for harpsichord & flute; Jonathan Howard Katz (NY) "Fantasy" for double bass & flute: and Vikas Deo (India via Chicago)

"3 Pieces for Harp on the North Indian Raag Ahir Bhairav". 

2012 Winners:

Greg Caffrey, Northern Ireland: "Takemitsu"s Dream" solo guitar;

Saman Samadi, Iran, "Paj" flute and piano; Can Bilir, "Hypertext" solo flute;

Ludwig Tuman, "Variations on a Theme of William Daniel" for solo piano

2011 Winners:

Juan Pedro Oliveira, Portugal & Brazil, "Entre Ar e Perfeicao",

flute and piano with electronics;

Ewan Campbell, Great Britain: "Fading Wingprints" for solo contrabass; Berndt Shumann, Germany: "Das Staunen, wenn der Alptraum wahr wird"; Paolo Geminiani, Italy: "Albori de Nuove Epifanie" for solo flute

2010 Winners: Marios Joannou Ella, Cyprus, "Cicadas" for solo piano;

Marco Reghezza, Taggia, Italy: "Pensieri", for solo flute;

David Sherr, NY & LA "Birds of Omen" for soprano, flute and piano 

The Tenth Annual Counterpoint International Competition 2019 invites works for Italian and NYC premieres.

Instrumentation is flute, guitar, and harp in any combination. Scores with midi recording are preferred and requested by December 31, 2019.

Please send pdf copies of work